Dalhousie University Scholarships

Dalhousie University Scholarships

What is it?

Dalhousie University is committed to supporting graduate student success and offers a competitive awards program with the goal of ensuring as many of our students receive financial support as possible.

The Faculty of Graduate Studies manages several scholarship competitions throughout the year for both current and prospective students. Students are encouraged to review upcoming deadlines and application process details.

Graduate Studies

The Faculty of Graduate Studies offers a number of scholarships, fellowships, bursaries, teaching assistantships, and other funding opportunities.

  • Faculty of Agriculture Graduate Scholarships

The Faculty of Agriculture has a common application for over 140 of our scholarships, bursaries, and awards. The common application is open to all students registered in a Faculty of Agriculture program, in any year of study (including Graduate students). A small number of awards still require a separate application.

Scholarships Requiring Separate Applications

  • David Crowe Graduate Scholarship

The A. David Crowe Graduate Scholarship was established by Dr. Crowe to encourage higher education in Agriculture. Dr. Crowe established this scholarship – valued at $25,000 per year – as a legacy to recognize the important role that advanced education plays in the agricultural industry and to provide opportunities for agricultural students to further their education.

●      BMO Financial Group Graduate Scholarship

BMO Financial Group created the BMO Financial Group Graduate Scholarship in Agriculture to support the attraction and retention of top graduate students to the Faculty of Agriculture, Dalhousie University.  This scholarship will provide one or more award(s) per year to a top student(s). The number of awards and the amount (up to $25,000) of each scholarship will be at the discretion of the Graduate Studies Committee.

  • PhD Scholarship for Excellence in Agricultural Research

The Faculty of Agriculture has established three PhD Scholarships for Excellence in Agricultural Research. These scholarships are valued at $10,000 per year for up to three years and will be awarded to outstanding PhD students registered in the PhD in Agricultural Sciences Program. Matching funds from the senior supervisor of the student are required to receive this award.

●      Class of 1956 Graduate Scholarship

One scholarship up to $7,000 will be awarded annually. Eligibility for this scholarship includes: (a) students currently enrolled in graduate studies in the  Faculty of Agriculture, or b) students being supervised by faculty members within the Faculty of Agriculture but registered in Ph.D. studies at another university, or c) a post-doctoral candidate supervised by a faculty member within the Faculty of Agriculture. The scholarship will be awarded to a successful applicant who is conducting research focused on rural water supply, watershed management, and/or water quality-related issues-particularly in areas of study such as Agricultural Economics and Policy, Social Sciences, Engineering, or Environmental Sciences. Past recipients are eligible to re-apply.

  • Allan A. Saunders Memorial Graduate Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a student in any discipline within the Faculty of Agriculture who is conducting research related to the dairy industry. Criteria are based on academic performance, diary farm background or interest in the dairy industry.  One or more awards of $3,000 may be given out annually.

  • Harmonized Scholarship Application Process (NSGS, NSERC, CHIR, Killam)

The Harmonized Scholarship Process allows for a current/prospective student to be considered for several FGS-managed scholarships, for which they may be eligible using a single application. This process replaces the previous scholarship management practice where separate applications would be required to NSGS, Killam, Eliza Ritchie, JRJ, NS Black and First Nations, Vitamin, and Bader competitions. Note that students must still apply directly to external competitions managed through independent application portals/processes in order to be considered for those awards (e.g. Tri-Council CGS-M/Doctoral/CGS-D, NSHRF, Sumner, etc.).

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *